20-015 RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING MEETING MINUTES OF FEBRUARY 3, 2020

MOTIONED BY: Velazquez SECONDED BY: Gardiner

WHEREAS, the North Hudson Sewerage Authority (hereinafter "Authority") is a public body, duly formed under the Sewerage Authorities law, constituting Chapter 138 of the Laws of New Jersey of 1946, as amended (Chapter 14A of Title 40 of the New Jersey Statutes Annotated) and possesses the powers set forth therein; and

WHEREAS, a regular meeting of the Authority was held on February 3, 2020; and

WHEREAS, minutes of the meeting have been prepared by General Counsel and presented to the Authority members and staff for their review.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Authority hereby approves the minutes of the meeting of February 3, 2020 for the record.

DATED: FEBRUARY 20, 2020

RECORD OF COMMISSIONERS' VOTE

	YES	NO	ABSENT
Commissioner Soares	X		
Commissioner Kappock	X		
Commissioner Marotta	X		
Commissioner Gardiner	X		
Commissioner Friedrich	X		
Commissioner Sanchez			X
Commissioner Velazquez	X		
Commissioner Roque	X		
Commissioner White	X		

THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT THIS RESOLUTION WAS DULY ADOPTED BY THE NORTH HUDSON BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS ON FEBRUARY 20, 2020

SECRETARY

THE NORTH HUDSON SEWERAGE AUTHORITY

MINUTES OF REORGANIZATION MEETING

February 3, 2020

At approximately 6:30 PM Chairman Kappock called the meeting to order.

OPEN PUBLIC MEETINGS ACT NOTIFICATION

Counsel Capizzi advised that this was a regularly scheduled meeting of the Authority properly noticed pursuant to the Open Public Meeting Act.

ROLL CALL

Counsel Capizzi called the roll with Commissioners Soares, Gardiner, Roque, Velazquez, White and Kappock physically present, and Commissioners Friedrich and Marotta participating by telephone.

Counsel Capizzi advised that all appropriate actions may be taken by the Authority since 8 Commissioners were present.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Chairman

Executive Director Wolff requested nominations for Chairman of the Authority. Commissioner Kappock was nominated by Commissioner Marotta, which was seconded by Commissioner White. Executive Director Wolff next requested that the Commissioners consider Resolution No. 20-001 electing Brian Kappock as Chairman of the Authority.

On motion of Commissioner Marotta, seconded by Commissioner White, Resolution No. 20-001 was adopted 8 - 0 - 0.

Vice Chairman

Chairman Kappock requested nominations for Vice-Chairman of the Authority. Commissioner Marotta was nominated by Chairman Kappock, which was seconded by Commissioner Velazquez. Chairman Kappock next requested that the Commissioners consider Resolution No. 20-002 electing Libero Marotta as Vice-Chairman of the Authority.

On motion of Commissioner Kappock, seconded by Commissioner Velazquez, Resolution No. 20-002 was adopted 8 - 0 - 0.

<u>Treasurer</u>

Chairman Kappock requested nominations for Treasurer of the Authority. Commissioner Gardiner was nominated by Commissioner Marotta, which was seconded by Commissioner Velazquez. Chairman Kappock next requested that the Commissioners consider Resolution No. 20-003 electing Kurt Gardiner as Treasurer of the Authority.

On motion of Commissioner Marotta, seconded by Commissioner Velazquez, Resolution No. 20-003 was adopted 8 - 0 - 0.

Assistant Treasurer

Chairman Kappock requested nominations for Assistant Treasurer of the Authority. Commissioner White was nominated by Commissioner Gardiner, which was seconded by Commissioner Marotta. Chairman Kappock next requested that the Commissioners consider Resolution No. 20-004 electing Erika White as Assistant Treasurer of the Authority.

On motion of Commissioner Gardiner, seconded by Commissioner Marotta, Resolution No. 20-004 was adopted 8 - 0 - 0.

<u>Secretary</u>

Chairman Kappock requested nominations for Secretary of the Authority. Commissioner Velazquez was nominated by Commissioner White, which was seconded by Commissioner Marotta. Chairman Kappock next requested that the Commissioners consider Resolution No. 20-005 electing Alex Velazquez as Secretary of the Authority.

On motion of Commissioner White, seconded by Commissioner Marotta, Resolution No. 20-005 was adopted 8 - 0 - 0.

<u>Assistant Secretary</u>

Chairman Kappock requested nominations for Assistant Secretary of the Authority. Commissioner Friedrich was nominated by Commissioner Velazquez, which was seconded by Commissioner Marotta. Chairman Kappock next requested that the Commissioners consider Resolution No. 20-006 electing Edward Friedrich as Assistant Secretary of the Authority.

On motion of Commissioner Velazquez, seconded by Commissioner Marotta, Resolution No. 20-006 was adopted 8 - 0 - 0.

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

Chairman Kappock announced the following committee assignments:

Finance / Personnel Brian Kappock, Chairman Libero Marotta Kurt Gardiner Linda Kish Richard Wolff Facilities Review Board Tony Soares, Chairman Brian Kappock Libero Marotta Jason Capizzi Fred Pocci Richard Wolff Education / Communication Erika White, Chairwoman Joseph Roque Edward Friedrich Richard Wolff

Litigation

Alex Velazquez, Chairman

Libero Marotta Brian Kappock Jason Capizzi Richard Wolff

CONSENT AGENDA

Executive Director Wolff next requested that the Commissioners consider the consent agenda resolutions, which he reviewed as follows:

- 1. Resolution No. 20-007 designating the Official Newspapers.
- 2. Resolution No. 20-008 designating the Official Depositories.
- 3. Resolution No. 20-009 establishing the Schedule of Meetings for the FY 2021.
- 4. Resolution No. 20-010 establishing the Schedule of Holidays for the FY 2021.
- Resolution No. 20-011 designating Executive Director Wolff as the Authorized Representative of the Authority for all matters related to the Authority, and Authority Engineer Pocci as an additional Authorized Representative of the Authority for all matters related to engineering, operations and permitting.
- 6. Resolution No. 20-012 designating Belissa Vega as the Public Agency Compliance Officer.
- 7. Resolution No. 20-013 designating Sharon Jicha as the Custodian of Records.

On motion of Commissioner Velazquez, seconded by Commissioner Gardiner, the consent agenda was adopted 8-0-0.

NEW BUSINESS

Donald R. Conger III of Jacobs Operation & Maintenance advised that the H-1 pump station is not in use at the moment given the Authority's inability to safely access same pending NJ Transit's compliance with an order by the NJ Department of Community Affairs to demolish an adjacent building.

Executive Director Wolff advised that the Authority has been working with all involved parties to develop a safe access plan, and that NJ Transit has proposed to reimburse the Authority for any expenses should the Authority undertake to shore up the building pending demolition.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

ADJOURNMENT

At approximately 6:52 PM on motion of Commissioner Velazquez, seconded by Commissioner Marotta, it was unanimously resolved to adjourn the meeting.